General Description of the Institution

Frederick University is a private University operating in the Republic of Cyprus, a member country of the European Union. Frederick University was established after a decision by the Council of Ministers of the Republic of Cyprus on 12th September 2007, following the forty-three year successful route of Frederick Institute of Technology, an Institution of Tertiary Education registered with the Ministry of Education and Culture, which is still operating. Frederick University operates from two campuses, the main campus in Nicosia, the capital of Cyprus and the other campus in Limassol, the second largest city.

The University has been awarded the Diploma Supplement Label by the European Commission. The Diploma Supplement is a document attached to a higher education diploma and it is designed to provide a description of the nature, level, context, content and status of the studies that were successfully completed by the graduate.

The mission of Frederick University is the provision of learning opportunities through teaching and research in the areas of science, technology, literature and the arts, as well as a systematic contribution to the wider social context. The education offered is of high quality and leads to recognized qualifications that ensure the University’s graduates professional career and advancement in Cyprus and abroad.

Programs’ Recognition
All programmes offered by Frederick University (both undergraduate and postgraduate) are evaluated by the Evaluation Committee of Private Universities (ECPU) and recognized, nationally - by the Cyprus Council for the Recognition of Higher Education Qualifications (KY.S.A.T.S.) - and internationally. The University has been recognized by the Hellenic National Academic Recognition and Information Center (Hellenic NARIC) as equivalent to the Greek higher education in the university sector.
Frederick University focuses on the development of close links with the public and private sector in order to facilitate the graduating students’ entrance in the labor market. In view of this it has managed to achieve recognition of all its undergraduate degrees of the School of Engineering and Applied Sciences, the postgraduate programme MSc in Electrical Engineering and the Postgraduate Diploma in Architecture, by the Technical Chamber of Cyprus (ETEK) with which a continuous cooperation has been established, thus granting its graduates all relevant professional rights. The Program of Architecture has also attained professional recognition according to the European Union Regulation (Article 21(7) of Directive 2005/36/EC Qualifications of Architects).

Further to the above, graduates of the Social Work programme of study are accepted by the Social Workers Registration Board and graduates of the Nursing programme of study are eligible for registration with the Nursing and Midwifery Council of Cyprus. In addition, graduates of the Business Administration programme of study are exempted 12 exams for AIA and 8 exams for ACCA and for the Accounting and Finance programme of study graduates are exempted 12 exams for AIA and 9 exams for ACCA.